Paleo Pumpkin Pie Muffins

 So, it’s September. In other words, it’s let-see-how-many-things-we-can-make-with-pumpkin time.

And then eat those things while we do our homework.

Boo.

IMG_3470Making my muffins look pretty has never been my strong suit… But at least they’re edible! I got the original recipe here from Carrot’s ‘N’ Cake (pretty much my fav blog) so if you like these you should thank Tina. I only adjusted it slightly – I pretty much just reduced the fat and sugar content. I’m all for healthy fats but I’m also all for eating 4 muffins at once so you can see why I made the adjustments.

These muffins really are delish- just the right amount of sweet and cinnamon-y and the texture is kind of a cross between a muffin and a pumpkin pie.

What I’m trying to say is, your September is sub-par if there aren’t any Paleo pumpkin muffins in it yet. You should get on that pronto.

IMG_3472

Paleo Pumpkin Muffins

adapted from Carrots N Cake

makes 9 muffins

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup almond meal
  • 1 cup canned pumpkin
  • 1 egg
  • 1 egg white
  • 1/4 cup almond butter
  • 1/6 cup honey
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 350 and line your muffin tin with 9 liners. Or be like me and just throw the batter in the tin – that way the paper liner doesn’t get to keep any of the crumbs. Yeah, I care about that.
  • Mix all ingredients together in a bowl.
  • Bake for 25-30 minutes.
  • Let cool before serving
  • Eat 4 now. I made these just for people like us, remember?

IMG_3474

Question of the day:

Whats your favorite part of fall?

Mine is apple picking for sure 🙂

Leave a Reply

