Homemade Almond Butter Recipe

Good morning!

I started my day off with some Plyometric exercises- 45 minutes of jump squats, burpees, and stuff like that. Then I stretched for 20 minutes because I was SORE after all of yesterdays rowing/running/bicep curling. Everything hurt.

c3dfbf598842b9c350929c984e1c7b80

I’m not working today so I have a long list of housework to do and being able to move is key!

Afterwards, I spent some time reading and drinking coffee at the big window in my kitchen, while I ate my breakfast of grapes and a protein bar. It felt good to just relax for an hour.

IMG_5533

Not long after, it was time for second breakfast! I made some eggs with kale and then some homemade almond butter to have on the side.

IMG_5536

I’ve been going crazy about almond butter since I first made it a few days ok and it was definitely time to make more-a lot more.

IMG_5541

I did the math and figured out that a jar of almond butter costs me about $2.50 to make-  That is SUPER CHEAP for almond butter (have you seen those jars that are $25??) I rarely find natural peanut butter that’s that cheap. Plus, it only takes about 15 minutes to make.

Since it so cost-effective, I don’t feel guilty using a big scoop of this in anything- whether it’s a smoothie, granola, or just eating it out of the jar.

Homemade Roasted Almond Butter

Ingredients:

  • 1.5 cups of Almonds. Or more, if you want. It’s your party.
  • Salt (to taste)

Directions:

  • Pre-heat oven to 350 F.
  • Lay your almonds out on a non-stick pan and sprinkle with a tsp of salt if you’d like.
  • Roast in oven for 10-15 minutes, remembering to stir every few minutes so that the almonds don’t burn.
  • Let cool for a few minutes after you take them out of the oven.
  • Push the almonds and salt into a food processor and let it grind on high for 2-5 minutes. Mine takes about 3 to get super creamy. At first it will just look like almond dust but after a few seconds it starts to stick together in a ball and before long it’s delightfully creamy. You’ll probably have to stop and scrape the sides a few times before it gets there.
  • Scrape into an old nut butter jar- remove the label to increase the homemade-esque feeling.
  • Enjoy a shmear with some fresh blueberries.

IMG_5535IMG_5538

IMG_5541IMG_5543

And now you’ve just opened yourself up to a wide world of recipes containing almond butter- I’ll work on assembling a list for you!

In the meantime you can go bask in the knowledge that you are just as crafty as Martha Stewart.

Question of the day:

What are your top 3 favorite nut butters?

I love my homemade almond butter, Teddy Chunky Peanut Butter, and Whole Foods Market 365 Peanut Butter.

Leave a Reply

