Guacamole Addicts Anonymous

Are you addicted to guacamole? I am too. I think I’ve made it 4 times in the past week. But this is a no judgement zone. Besides, avocados are so good for you, you’re eating healthier than everyone else in the room when you’re the one with the plate of guacamole.

Now I know you’re like “but aren’t there like 25 grams of fat in an avocado??”

Why yes, they are, but let me tell you a little something about avocado fat.

Avocados are packed with the omega-3 heart healthy fat that lowers cholesterol, lowers blood pressure, helps you regulate a healthy metabolism, and digests slowly to keep you full hours after you’ve had it.

So are you still worried about the fat in avocados? I would be more worried about what would happen if I didn’t eat the fat in avocados.

So anyway,  I’m on a quest to create the perfect guacamole – I don’t think I’m there yet, but if this is the one I eat for the rest of my life, I sure wont be complaining.

Image

It’s the perfect blend of spicy and tangy but you can still taste the deliciousness of the avocados.

But enough talk. Let’s eat.

Moriah’s Fav Guacamole

as of August 2013

Ingredients:

  • 2 ripe avocados
  • 1/2 of a red onion, chopped  (I like mine a little chunky)
  • 1 diced plum tomato
  • 1 juicy lime
  • 1 minced clove of garlic (or 2, if you’re eating it alone and don’t care about your breath)
  • 1 chopped jalapeno pepper… with seeds 🙂 (optional… but I’d be really disappointed if you left it out…)
  • salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

  • Slice your avocados real nice and fancy for no particular reason(heres where I learned)
  • Mash em up in a medium-sized bowl
  • Cut your lime in half and squeeze the juice out onto your avocados
  • Stir in your tomatoes, red onion, jalapeno, and garlic
  • Taste it, then add in your salt in pepper – you could forego the salt if you’re eating it with salty tortilla chips. Mmmmmmm.
  • Serve immediately with sweet potato chips, corn chips, carrot sticks, and cucumber slices. Or just eat it with a spoon.
  • Leftover guac has been known to last a day or two when covered in the fridge, but I wouldn’t know. Whats leftover guacamole?

380c7a78cad811e2ada322000a1fbcdb_7

Leave a Reply

